Angel Erin's Book Obsession

I've been an avid reader since I was in elementary school and I credit Stephen King and R.L. Stine for getting me into reading back then. Before I stumbled upon the Goosebumps series I had no idea that reading could be fun. Now I can't get enough of reading and I just love to talk about books! My blog is here

Black-Eyed Susans Review!

Black-Eyed Susans: A Novel of Suspense - Julia Heaberlin


I won Black-Eyed Susans in a Goodreads giveaway. Thank you to Goodreads and Ballantine Books!


Black-Eyed Susans is the best thriller that I have read in awhile. It's such a completely captivating book. I love how the story expertly weaves from Tessa's past and back into the present. And kept me entertained in both the present and in the flashbacks! Also, there is some forensic science in the book and I liked that a lot. It seemed to me that the author really did her research on the forensics and in other areas as well. Which is always appreciated! 



If you like tension in your thrillers then this one is for you! There is some major tension and buildup in this novel that leads to a great twist. I was turning the pages so fast, especially during the last quarter of the book. It was extremely intense! I had so many different theories going on in my head and I was dying to know what happened. I couldn't get to the end fast enough and I had to tell myself to slow down so I didn't miss anything. 



I also really like Tessa's character. She's an unreliable narrator and I expected to dislike her, but there is just something about her that made me root for her. It's interesting because I went back and forth a lot on if I believed anything she said. I like her daughter a lot as well. The dynamic of the relationship between the two of them is really interesting. Now that I'm thinking more about it, I liked a lot of the characters in the book. Woo hoo!



Overall Black-Eyed Susans is a fantastic book and it has become a new favorite book for me! I don't have a single complaint about it. The writing is superb. I will definitely have to read the author's other books. Wow. That's all I have left to say, just WOW!! 



I recommend Black-Eyed Susans to all thriller lovers. You won't be disappointed! 


The Hatching Review!

The Hatching: A Novel - Ezekiel Boone


Thank you to NetGalley and Atria Books for providing an ebook copy of The Hatching By: Ezekiel Boone in exchange for an honest review!


So let me begin this review by saying that I am terrified of all bugs and insects. Including spiders. SO why did I pick The Hatching to read? Because I love horror. I love to be creeped out and scared. As long as creepy crawlies stay away from me in real life.


The Hatching takes a little bit of time to set up, but then it gets good. Really good. This is not the most action packed novel, but what action it has really makes an impression. For example some parts had me screaming, "Ahhh and Ewww and No, no, oh my god, no!" If spiders creep you out at all then this book will terrify you. I saw a small spider in the house later that night when I finished this book and I almost just decided to set the house on fire.


My skin is crawling even just writing this review. I had no idea that it was possible to be even more terrified of spiders. I don't think that The Hatching will be everyone's brand of horror, but I think the apocalyptic and sci-fi side will attract a lot of fans as well. The style of the novel kind of reminded me of World War Z (which I didn't finish because that one bored me to tears and I tried twice), but it worked for this book. It has multiple POV's that it follows, but not too many so that it's hard to keep up with. I liked most of the characters, but I do have to say that Mike and Melanie are my favorites.


Overall The Hatching is a book that creeped me the hell out. It's an engaging read and written very well. This book will leave you feeling uneasy and creeped out, even if you don't have arachnophobia. I hate spiders, but I loved this novel and I can't wait for the sequel!


I recommend The Hatching for fans of World War Z and for horror loving arachnophobes. My husband is also frightened of spiders and by the end of the book I kept telling him that he has to read this!



The Little Paris Bookshop Review!

The Little Paris Bookshop: A Novel - Nina George, Simon Pare

Thank you to Blogging for Books for providing a copy of The Little Paris Bookshop By: Nina George in exchange for an honest review!

So let's be real here. I wanted to read The Little Paris Bookshop to see what this floating literary apothecary was all about. I wanted to see what exactly it meant when it says in the summary that Perdu prescribes books for people that he feels like they need. Basically I enjoy books about books!

I liked Perdu and Jordan a lot, however I found it difficult to have a real connection to them. While I did not find any characters to be relatable, I still enjoyed them and found them intriguing. Especially Perdu. I really enjoyed his journey to healing. I can't believe it took Perdu so long to read the letter in the first place though. I would have died out of curiosity in three minutes flat!

While I really liked The Little Paris Bookshop, it wasn't perfect. There are a few slow parts that I struggled to get through. I even thought about DNFing at one point in the middle because it was so slow. I'm glad I didn't, but if it wasn't for those slow parts this could have possibly been a five star read. I will say that part of it may be the fact that I've been extremely in the mood for mysteries and thrillers at the moment. Which this certainly is not. Regardless, it was slow in the middle. Perhaps it wouldn't have been as bad if I wasn't in this crazy thriller mood. Also, this book really made me want to travel even more. I'm just dying to travel! I want to go so many places.
#AFewSlowParts #Wanderlust

Overall I liked The Little Paris Bookshop. I can't say that it has become a new favorite book, but I enjoyed it and I would read it again. Oh, and the ending was magnificent! I am very pleased with how it ended. I started this book to read by the pool, but I ended up deciding to hurry up and finish it instead of waiting to read by the pool. I couldn't wait to see what happened with Perdu at the end!
#NotPerfect #GreatEnding

I recommend The Little Paris Bookshop to fans of books about books and for people who enjoy beautiful stories about healing.

After Anna Review!

After Anna - Alex Lake


Thank you to Edelweiss and HarperCollins for providing an ebook copy of After Anna By: Alex Lake in exchange for an honest review! 


Well here I am with another book that fits my mystery/thriller mood.  I'm not sure why all of a sudden I've been really in the mood for this genre, especially since I usually prefer them when it's cold outside. Regardless, here goes another one and it was a good one!



I enjoyed After Anna quite a bit. It's another thriller with the missing child trope that I like. That trope is magnificently done in this book. The suspense is killer while Anna is missing and even after Anna is returned there is still plenty of suspense! 



One thing that the author did really well in this book is make you feel for the main character,  Julia.  I really felt for her throughout the novel and not just a little bit either. Poor Julia. Her child went missing, she's the one who was supposed to pick Anna up from school on time, and she has to deal with a lot of jerks. I was just as LIVID as Julia (at two characters in particular) while reading the book. Really the writing in this book is just on point!



So here's the big question. Did I guess the twist? That's always the question when it comes to books like After Anna, right? Well guess what, I didn't guess the twist! I love when I'm taken completely by surprise, even if I feel like I SHOULD have known. The whole ending is delightfully disturbing and perfect. 



Overall After Anna is a mystery/thriller that is worth the read! The only negative thing I could possibly say about the book is I think the tagline, "The real nightmare starts when her daughter is returned..." is a bit misleading. I was thinking something would be WRONG with the daughter when she came back and that is not the case. Other than that, this was a perfect book to help satisfy my mystery/thriller mood. 



I recommend After Anna for fans of Remember Mia, S is for Stranger, and (of course) Gone Girl. 


All the Missing Girls Review!

All the Missing Girls: A Novel - Ms. Megan Miranda

Totally Should've Book Tag

Fun tag! 


I'm new here and I have no clue what I'm doing. Here's my blog page!

Currently reading

Watching Edie by Camilla Way
This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen